Congratulations to the 2018 Scholarship Recipients

By Kathy Larsen

Monday night at The Van Buren, the NACE Foundation recognized its 2018 scholarship recipients during the Scholarship Awards Ceremony.  Out of the many applications received by the NACE Foundation, 34 outstanding students were selected for 45 scholarships.  Recipients were chosen by selection committees based on their academic excellence, work experience, professional activities, and commitment to the corrosion industry.


Now in its 14th year of awarding scholarships, the NACE Foundation is able to recognize these deserving students each year because of individual and corporate donations, as well as the generous financial support from NACE sections and areas.


Scholarship Recipients:

American Innovations Corrosion Scholarship Jacob Lapp and Alexander Plumlee

NACE Philadelphia Section Liberty Bell Academic Scholarship Caroline Van Pelt and Jacob Lapp

Gordon Rankin Corrosion Engineering Scholarship Ashleigh Carpenter and Brad MacDonald

Sherwin-Williams Protective & Marine Coatings Academic Scholarship Brian Musial and Alexander Plumlee

Sharon Aihara Coombs Memorial Scholarship Madeline Lee

MTI Bert Krisher Memorial Scholarship Katherine Russell and Nathan Frye

Hans Schmoldt Scholarship in Cathodic Protection Jarrod Moran

Tinker & Rasor—Latin American Area Scholarship Carolina Solano Cáceres

NACE Sandia Mountain Section Scholarship Grace Weber

NACE Detroit Section Scholarship Turner James Lechner and Mackenzie Keefer

Graduate Student Book Award Praveen Majjigapu, Shruthi Tiruchirapalli Kumar Raj, Ru Jia, Jonas Kavi, Christopher Ozigagu, Armen Kvryan, and Abraham Becerra

NACE Foundation Academic Scholarship Nicholas Pottschmidt, Madeline Lee, Caroline Van Pelt, Brian Musial, and Ashleigh Carpenter

NACE Foundation—Williams Companies Academic Scholarship Alexandra Ivey

NACE Past Presidents Scholarship Shannon Jaeger and Erica Fagnan

NACE Eastern Area Scholarship Nicholas Pottschmidt

Theodore D. Harrington Scholarship Alex Hesketh

Appalachian Underground Corrosion Short Course Scholarship Praveen Majjigapu, Piyush Soti, Jonas Kavi, and Spencer Fultineer

NACE Intermountain Section Academic Scholarship Alex Hesketh

Lee Magnon Memorial Scholarship Shannon Robins and Alexandra Ivey

NACE Puget Sound Section Academic Scholarship Jacob Clark

NACE Gateway India Section Scholarship Annesha Das, Dyana Joseline, Rajnish Kumar, and Sundar Rathnarajan