Finish positions at 2018 Darrel D. Byerley Memorial Golf Tournament

By Stephanie Chizik

NACE International’s 2018 CORROSION Conference & Expo started with an above-par turnout at the Darrel D. Byerley Memorial Golf Tournament. The event, which is sponsored by Tinker & Rasor, took place Saturday, April 15, at the Champions Course at Tournament Players Club (TPC) Scottsdale.

Home of the Waste Management Phoenix Open, which took place this year February 1‒4 where Gary Woodland beat out Chez Reavie in the playoff, TPC Scottsdale began construction in January 1986. The Champions Course was designed by Randy Heckenkemper and revamped in 2007.

The tournament began with a putting contest at 7:30 a.m., followed by breakfast at 8 and the shotgun start at 8:30. Awards were given out during the luncheon at 1 p.m. Winners included….

Closest to the Pin
: Tony Evans

Longest Drive: Dave Cutlip


1st Place Gross

Frank Rampton

Kelly Christopher

Dave Cutlip

Don Mitchell


1st Place Net

Phil Yule

Ralph Bowman

Tony Evans

Matthew Bell


2nd Place Gross

Murray Heywood

Ken Jaros

Chris Beninati


2nd Place Net

Louis Franek

Craig Ramsey

Mike Williams

Jason Brightwell


3rd Place Gross

Brett Houtz

Josh Houtz

Skyler Houtz

Jade Singleton-Riech


3rd Place Net

Chris Pollard

Lance Shepherd

Russell Morris

Heath Hillard


 Proceeds from the tournament go to NACE Foundation, which supports scholarships, training, and workforce development in the field of corrosion mitigation.

For more information about this annual event, contact: NACE Foundation,